Minutes for May 7, 2008 Special Meeting of Virginia Racing Commission

On May 7, 2008, the Virginia Racing Commission convened a special meeting for the purpose of discussing the assignment and appointment of specific employees of the Commission. Present were Chairman Peter Burnett, Vice Chairman Mark Brown (by phone), Commissioner David Reynolds, Commissioner Clinton Miller, Commissioner Trip Ferguson, and Amy Dilworth from the Attorney General's Office. The meeting convened at La Petit Auberge, 311 William Street, Fredericksburg, Virginia, at 12:15 p.m., at which time Chairman Peter Burnett made the following motion:

"In accordance with the provisions of Section 2.2-3711 (A)(1) of the Code of Virginia, I move that the Commission go into closed meeting for the purpose of:

 Discussion or consideration of the assignment, appointment, performance or salary of specific employees of the Commission."

Chairman Burnett's motion was seconded by Commissioner Ferguson. The closed meeting concluded at 12:55 p.m., and was certified by roll call vote, with Chairman Burnett making the following motion, seconded by Commissioner Clinton Miller:

"I move the adoption of the following resolution:

"WHEREAS, the Virginia Racing Commission has convened a closed meeting on this date pursuant to an affirmative recorded vote and in accordance with the provisions of The Virginia Freedom of Information Act; and WHEREAS, Section 2.2-3712 of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by this Commission that such closed meeting was conducted in conformity with Virginia law; NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Virginia Racing Commission certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered by the Commission in the closed meeting."

Roll Call Vote:

Commissioner Reynolds – Aye Commissioner Ferguson – Aye Commissioner Miller – Aye Vice Chairman Brown – Aye Chairman Burnett - Aye